A Travellerspoint blog

This blog is published chronologically. Go straight to the most recent post.

Our Route

We're finally decided on a route and booked all the flights:

Tue 16 Feb UK to Cape Town
Wed 24 Feb Cape Town via Johannesburg to Singapore
Sat 27 Feb Singapore to Phuket
Mon 1 March Phuket to Bangkok
Thu 4 March Bangkok to Tokyo
Sat 6 March Set sail on the Ocean Princess
Mon 8 March Osaka, Japan
Tue 9 March Hiroshima, Japan
Wed 10 March Hakata, Japan
Fri 12 March Vladivostok, Russia
Mon 15 March Inchon, South Korea
Wed 17 March Beijing (Xingang), China
Thu 18 March Dalian China
Sat 20 March Final Port is Shanghai, China
Mon 22 March Shanghai to Kuala Lumpur
Wed 24 March Kuala Lumpur to Singapore
Thu 25 March Singapore to Perth
Sat 27 March Perth to Ayers Rock
Tue 30 March Ayers Rock to Cairns
Sat 3 April Cairns to Auckland
Tue 6 April Auckland to Christchurch
Sun 11 April Christchurh to Nadi, Fiji
Sun 18 April Rob is 40
Sun 18 April Fiji to Honolulu, Hawaii
Fri 23 April Hawaii to Las Vegas
Wed 28 April Las Vegas to New York
Fri 30 April New York to UK
Sat 1 May - Home

UPDATE: 9 October - just over 4 months before we go now!

Posted by JenBuckley 14:42 Comments (0)

It's almost time to go

12 days until we leave

Rob here, Jen is still occasionally stressing about the trip. We have booked a number of hotels in various ports of call but there are still a few to sort out. Her suitcase handle is broken so she needs a new one, and it must be red. There are credit cards, cash and various packing considerations apparently, whereas I am just waiting for Tuesday to come along so I can pack at the last minute and leave for Heathrow. [I actually suspect that Jen will end up prodding me into action or packing for me].

The plan is to update this Blog most days with phots and experiences, so in 6 months time when we have forgotten it all we can read what actually happened :)

Posted by JenBuckley 12:23 Comments (1)

Trip Statistics

For those of you who like statistics (especially Helen and Michael!)

Trip Duration: 75 days
No of Flights: 17
Approx. number of hours flying: 80.25
Countries visted: 12 (or 13 if you count Hawaii separately)

Posted by JenBuckley 13:47 Comments (2)

Day 1 England - Heathrow (0 GMT)

rain 5 °C

It's typical English winter, rainy and cold. The M4 down was busy at 5pm but we arrived in plenty of time for the flight. we have picked up some South African Rand, Chinese Yuan, Koren Won and Russian Roubles. We also decided to get one of these pre-paid Cash Passports/ Visa cards. The Virgin plane was full and left on time.

UK_leaving.jpg

Posted by RobBuckley 08:51 Comments (0)

Day 2 South Africa - Cape Town (+2 GMT)

sunny 27 °C

The 11 1/2 hour flight was one of the bumpiest I have ever been on, but in all not a bad journey. We landed on time at 10.30am to hot sun, and the whole arrival process was quick and simple. The airport is undergoing construction at the moment with many football signs and apparently 114 days to something happening :)

The drive to Verona Lodge along the N2 was fine, they drive on the left, very close together and the scenery is a mix of shanty towns, the big blue bay and table mountain. Our place of stay for the next 2 days is situated in Cape Town between Signal Hill and the Waterfront and the host Shane is friendly. We spent the afternoon walking along the seafront and looking into Wine and Safari trips at the V&A Docks area.

Tonight we went up Signal Hill to see the views, and then to a Traditional South African restaurant, Jen had Lamb, I had a sampler dish with Ostrich, Crocodile, Venison, Warthog and Kudu (Antelope). Note to Self: Rob you don't like Crocodile.

We have now planned our week, a trip to Table Mountain tomorrow, wine tasting in Stellenbosch Friday, Sanbona to see wild animals Saturday & Sunday and then down to Cape Point for the rest of our time here.

SA_waterfront.jpgSA_waterfront2.jpg

Posted by RobBuckley 06:53 Comments (2)

(Entries 1 - 5 of 53) Page [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 .. »